You Won’t Bring me Down

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I was actually looking back on the past decisions I made in my life. Just today, I also had a few talks with my elder brother and my mom.

My elder brother asked me if I had some regrets in the past. Guess what. I immediately answered a big NO. I just do not feel like dwelling with my past anymore especially those past mistakes. I hardly remember and even recall them at all.

Things have changed surprisingly for me. I am more grateful now especially with everything that has happened to me from the past.

Through the years I stayed in my previous work, I also took the opportunity to surf in the internet in my spare time. I love that I learned something new to increase my knowledge of interests. I learned more about the world of internet. By simply searching topics of interest via Google, you can get a number of free and valuable information.

Last year was a very challenging year. I made a big decision in my life. I resigned from my first and last job after working for almost three years.

It was not an easy resignation for me then. I have grown closer to my circle of friends. But there came a time that I desired to grow more as an individual. That is outside the confines of the walls of the office. I felt like it was time for me again to be uncomfortable.

Before and after I formally gave my resignation letter to my former supervisor, I also experienced struggles. I did not expect to hear resistance from friends more so from my supervisor. Still I understood their feelings but that did not prevent me from pursuing what I truly wanted.

From that day on, I decided to become an aspiring entrepreneur. I am happy I have already overcome first hand obstacles.

As I write this post, I am also singing in my head a song fitting for this post. It’s called Defying Gravity. I personally love the following lines found in the song:

Something has changed within me
Something is not the same
I’m through with playing by the rules
Of someone else’s game
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes: and leap!

It’s time to try
Defying gravity
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity
Kiss me goodbye
I am defying gravity
And you won’t bring me down!

Leave a Reply

