Remembering the Days without Internet at Home

Research Bar

Research Bar (Photo credit: Rice-Aron Library)

Writing in a blog is indeed challenging.  At times, I can’t seem to find words to express myself. It’s odd but it’s very true for me.  Sometimes a good topic pops in your mind but then when you start to write, your mind suddenly turns into blank state.  It’s funny though that I am still able to write something for today.  I just want to write more often right now and I hope to develop this as a habit in the next couple of days.

Anyway, I remember a particular episode in a comedy kiddie TV show being shown here in the Philippines called Going Bulilit.  They cited instances what people do in the past as compared in the present.  I especially liked when they reenacted situations you can instantly relate with.  For instance, kids before would always go out and play with their neighbors. Most of the time they are reprimanded by their parents for staying up too late outside the house. Then when internet and hi-tech gadgets became available, kids nowadays would rather stay inside the house to use internet for Facebook or just play games in a smart phone. Another situation they showed is researching with the use of an encyclopedia. I really laughed hard when I saw that. Doing a research is a lot easier now because you can simply Google it right in front of your personal computer with an internet connection.

I immediately recalled the times when internet was only available in school and when you have to go to an internet shop.  I used to hate internet before because I also found researching difficult especially when it’s something new for me.  I even told myself that if we have personal computer with internet at home I would really study and learn searching! And yes, it’s been years since I learned how to use internet and using Google to search for topics I need to research on. Even here in WordPress, I am still learning and it’s nice to learn more!

Leave a Reply

