Beyond the Cover

Book Cover - Write Here Write NowJudging by its book cover I must say I might not be initially drawn to read the book. Frankly, I am not familiar with the author since I got more exposed to reading books from other popular authors I know such as Bruce Wilkinson, Joyce Meyer, John Maxwell, and Bo Sanchez.

More than the cover of the book itself, I was interested to read Patawaran’s work because a friend has recommended it as a good read not only for experienced and aspiring writers alike but also to those who want to improve their written English skills.

Upon learning about this I headed to the nearest bookstore and asked my mom to buy it for me as a birthday gift last year! Since I have read lots of inspirational books, I thought to myself why not try something different this time.

What I find surprising when I started reading the book was it took me a day reading just one chapter. It was something unusual for me because I would finish reading a not so thick book in just a day or two.

I believe it helped that I took time reading every chapter in separate days because my learning was focused on a particular subject. Whenever I encounter difficulty understanding a sentence or paragraph, I would reread them until I can fully get the author’s message. It was like my mind has been retrained to appreciate another writing style, which I am not used to come across compared to my previous readings.

To sum, the book is indeed worth reading for me since I find it a learning tool to help me improve my writing skills. There is also a possibility that I will go over with the book the next time and I believe I would still learn more from it.

One thought on “Beyond the Cover

  1. Pingback: On judging book by it’s cover | Bullets & Dreams

Leave a Reply

