Getting Out of My Comfort Theme

For the past several months, I’ve been used to seeing my blog with the old theme and I never thought I would come to a decision to change its look lately.  I was in love with WordPress’ Selecta theme before since I found the featured photo appealing to me as it showed in my blog.

Until I tried to create a gallery blog post from my previous post, I was surprised to find out that the gallery photo did not show up!  I searched on the web and to WordPress.com only to realize that Selecta theme only showed photos in single-image view. My heart got shaken since it meant I have to choose a new theme so that the gallery post photo I recently tried would appear as it should be.

Since I was also into thinking to change my blog theme, I took the opportunity to look for other themes which I think would best fit what I really wanted. The widgets I used must be somehow close to the old theme I used for my blog. It’s really a good thing there is a live view for every WordPress theme since that way I can see if the formatting especially the embedded photos would still look good. Other themes I tried looked like a disaster for me since most of the featured photos disappeared out of nowhere which I did not like.

And so I kept on looking for a suitable blog theme until I found this current theme which I also personally customized. It was definitely a good decision for me though since the new blog theme somehow lighted up the way I look at my blog right now. While revamping my blog I also noticed some changes in WordPress.com’s dashboard particularly under Appearance>>Menu which coincided to the recent news shared from Daily Post at WordPress.com about the improved Menus.

So my journey towards changing my blog theme also became a reflective thought for me as I look forward to more improvements into my life perspectives.

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone. S...

Leave a comment